Picture
Allow me to deliver. :D

Even in its early stages, I adored this cover for First Watch. It was beautiful -- it was lurid, in the best possible way. The palette reminds me of the picture at the conclusion of the black-and-white Picture of Dorian Gray; it speaks to the kind of compelling horror that fascinates even as it revolts. To say "the fascination of the abomination" would be trite, but it would be true.

As an amateur artist myself, I know how hard it is to capture one's own mental image on paper. I can't even imagine how hard it is to capture someone else's -- but that's just what Roberto Quintero did here, more brightly and more vividly than I could've imagined. My hat's off to him.

9/19/2011 05:25:14 am

Beautiful cover. Beau-ti-ful. I can't wait to read this one. The cover and the blurb... hooked me hard.

Reply
9/20/2011 06:36:06 am

I'm quite the fan of this one myself. This may be my favorite cover of the year, and I can't think of a more deserving book to put it on :D

Reply



Leave a Reply.